MAA Awards, Prizes, and Lectures

Writing Awards determined by committees who submit their recommendation to the secretary by April 15:

- Allendoerfer (Mathematics Magazine)
- Halmos-Ford Award (Monthly)

- Trevor Evans (Math Horizons)
- **Pólya** (College Mathematics Journal)

Writing awards and lectures recommended to the Board by committees who submit their recommendation along with citation to the secretary by May 1 for:

- Beckenbach Book Prize
- Chauvenet Prize
- Euler Book Prize
- Robbins Prize

- Hedrick Lecturer
- Leitzel Lecturer
- Pólya Lecturer
- Hasse Prize (due October 15, even years)

Nominations for teaching, research, writing, and service awards: Send to the secretary (secretary@maa.org) by the dates given.

- Mary P. Dolciani Award for distinguished contribution to the mathematical education of K-16 students in the United States or Canada, September 1
- Henry Alder Award for Distinguished Teaching by a beginning mathematics faculty member, October 1
 - John and Annie Selden Prize for research in Mathematics Education (odd years),
 October 1
- Daniel Solow Author's Award that recognizes author or authors of undergraduate teaching materials, October 1
 - Meritorious Service Awards, recommendations from sections, October 15
 - Gung and Hu Award for Service to Mathematics, December 1
 - Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching, March 1
- AMS-MAA-SIAM Morgan Prize for Undergraduate Research, to the AMS Secretary by June 30



Committee Chairs as of July 1, 2016

Committee	Chair	Chair's Email
Alder Award	Eric Egge	eegge@carleton.edu
Allendoerfer Award	Keith Mellinger	kmelling@umw.edu
Beckenbach Book Prize	Daniel Hrozencik	dhrozenc@csu.edu
Chauvenet Prize	Susan Colley	sjcolley@math.oberlin.edu
Euler Book Prize	Dennis Deturck	deturck@math.upenn.edu
Falconer Lecturer	Carlos Cartillo-Chaves	ccchavez@asu.edu
Halmos-Ford Award	Tanya Leise	tleise@amherst.edu
Gung and Hu Award	Annalisa Crannell	annalisa.crannall@fandm.edu
Haimo Award	Thomas Hagedorn	hagedorn@tcnj.edu
Hedrick Lecturer	Ravi Vakil	vakil@math.stanford.edu
Leitzel Lecturer	Laurie Heyer	laheyer@davidson.edu
Meritorious Service	Recommended by MAA Sections	
Merten Hasse Prize	Thomas Marshall Fiore	tmfiore@umd.umich.edu
Morgan Prize	Carla Savage, AMS Secretary	ams_secretary@ncsu.edu
Pólya Award	Meredith Greer	mgreer@bates.edu
Pólya Lecturer	Colin Adams	Colin.Adams@williams.edu
Robbins Prize	David Bressoud	bressoud@macalester.edu
Solow Award	Bud Brown	ezbrown@math.vt.edu
Selden Prize	Rina Zazkis	mkinzel@boisestate.edu
Trevor Evans Award	Denny Gulick	dng@math.umd.edu
Dolciani Award	David Stone	dstone@georgiasouthern.edu
MAA Secretary	Barbara Faires	secretary@maa.org
AMS Secretary	Carla Savage	ams_secretary@ncsu.edu