MD-DC-VA Section of MAA Membership Meeting Minutes Salisbury University April 13, 2013

Dan Joseph called the meeting to order.

- 1. The minutes of the October 27, 2012 membership meeting were approved as distributed.
- 2. Brian Lins presented the treasurer's report. The Section had received an anonymous \$250 donation to Project NExT. The combined total of the Section's funds is approximately \$10,000. Brian reported that 88 faculty, 59 students, and 11 Section NExT fellows had preregistered. He noted that there has been a slight decrease in faculty attendance over the past few years, speculating that it is because of the recession.
- 3. Dan Kalman stated that he had nothing to add to the governor's report that had already appeared in the Section's newsletter.

## 4. Chair's Report:

- (a) There was a brief report and discussion concerning initiating a 5th-grade-level American Mathematics Contest (AMC-5).
- (b) There was a discussion concerning the proposed Section Service Award. The proposal is on the Section's website. Amy Shell-Gelasch reviewed the proposal's main points. The members will vote on the proposal at the Fall 2013 meeting. If the measure passes, then the awards will be granted beginning with the Fall 2014 meeting.
- 5. Outgoing Section officers Leigh Lunsford, Dawit Haile, Jennifer Bergner, Don Spickler, and Dan Kalman were recognized for the service.
- 6. Jathan Austin was selected to finish Jennifer Bergner's term as Student Activities Coordinator.
- 7. New officers were elected: Kathryn Lineham as Program Chair-Elect, Gwyneth Whieldon as Newsletter Editor, Brian Heinold as Webmaster, and Minah Oh as Member At-Large.
- 8. Dan Joseph made the following announcements.
  - (a) Caren Diefenderfer has been elected (online) as the Section's governor.
  - (b) Several Section members have recently received awards: William Hawkins received the Gung and Hu Award; Genevieve Knight received the NAM's Lifetime Achievement Award; John Hamman received the Maryland Teacher of the Year Award; Laura Taalman and Eve Torrence received the Virginia Outstanding Faculty Award.

- 9. A question was raised asking with the Section's e-mail system was working satisfactorily. Dan Kalman said that he would look into it.
- 10. Bruce Torrence presented the 2013 John Smith Teaching Award to Adrian Rice.
- 11. A motion was passed to direct the secretary to write a letter of appreciation to Salisbury University for hosting the meeting.
- 12. The meeting was adjourned.