MAA MD-DC-VA Section Executive Committee Meeting Thursday, November 5, 5:00pm Zoom

In attendance:

Minah Oh, Chair Phillip Poplin Jathan Austin
Bonita Saunders Margaret Rahmoeller Jeb Collins
Ryan Shifler Tom Wears Kevin Sinclair
Ethan Duckworth Lisa Schneider Brian Heinold

I. Approval of Minutes of Nov. 8, 2019.

(Note that there were no minutes from Spring 2020 because that meeting was canceled). Passed by voice

II. Report of the Treasurer: Phillip Poplin.

You may see that we have a \$2500 expense listed twice for Section NExT over the past year. That's because we somehow missed the payment last year. We paid that in February, and then this fall paid again for the current year.

We're in fairly good shape budget-wise: we had no income in the spring but we also had basically no expenses. The biggest expenses are always food, and that was \$0 for spring.

There are 74 registrations for the meeting this weekend, about 57 are people who paid in full (i.e. not invited speakers, or Section NExT, etc), plus 6 students. We also have an above average number of donations to our funds.

III. Report of the Representative to the MAA Congress – Bonita Sanders

The congress meeting was at the end of July. They gave representatives a stack of 26 slides to share with the section at the general meeting which Bonita will do on Saturday. The MAA asked for representatives to gather feedback from the sections, and 3 or 4 people contacted her from the section to bring issues to the national organization. But there was so much going on in the congress meeting that there wasn't much time to discuss these questions.

Going forward Bonita will try using MAA-connect as a way to gather questions, feedback, info from the section. She could make a post, like "what are your concerns" and then people could either reply directly, or contact her directly so that she can pass along their questions and/or complaints anonymously.

IV. Report of the New Faculty Coordinator – Jathan Austin

Class of 2022 Section NExT:

Chris Eliot: John Tyler Community College

Nicholas Owad: Hood College

Chase Mathison: Shenandoah University Blain Patterson: Virginia Military Institute Sarah Patterson: Virginia Military Institute

At this meeting we'll be giving a Section NEXT presentation on balancing teaching, service and research.

V. Report of the Program Chair - Ryan Shifler

We have three invited speakers: Kristin Boyle from Longwood University; Anthony Kersley from NIST; Gretchen Matthews from Virginia Tech (who was just recently made fellow of the AWM). There are 24 contributed talks, over 4 zoom rooms. Room 1 is more applied, Room 2 is more pure, Room 3 is more teaching, expository, pedagogy related, and room 4 is IBL (Inquiry Based Learning).

VI. Report of the Section Chair - Minah Oh

There will be 4 parallel sessions, and Minah will send out the zoom links via email to all registrants. Ryan is in charge of zoom room 2, Brian is in charge of zoom room 3, and Cassie Williams will be in charge of zoom room 4. Jeb is in charge of the social hour, and that's another link.

Jeb: the social hour link will make a lot more sense once you see it. You'll have a big map a tiny little avatar and you can walk around, but you only talk to and see the people you are close to. The platform is called Gathertown.

Minah: I've used something like that before, and I noticed that people sometimes leave the Zoom link open, and at the same time use the Gathertown link, and then there was audio feedback, so you might want to let them know that they should mute or close one of the connections.

There is a vote open right now on some changes to the section bylaws: it opened on Monday, and will stay open until tomorrow, and the email came from the MAA headquarters.

Future meetings: Spring 2021 at JMU, then Fall 2021 at Salisbury, then Virginia State. We'll have the Spring 2021 one virtually if needed.

VII. Report of the Awards Committee - Ethan Duckworth

Ethan announced that Susan Goldstein won the teaching award. At the general section meeting we will announce and give out the service award that was delayed from Spring 2020¹

VIII. Potential Reports from Other Executive Committee Members

Phillip:

I'd like to start having the late registration be online too, not with a paper form. It would just change and say "late" and say they wouldn't get food, etc.

Minah: agreed, but we should still post a deadline, and make that clear.

Others:

- a. Vice Program Chair: Ryan Shifler
- b. Webmaster: Brian Heinold
- c. Secretary: Ethan Duckworth
- d. News Letter Editor: Margaret Rahmoeller
- e. Director of Member Communications: Tom Wears
- f. Student Activities Coordinator: Lisa Schneider
- g. At-Large Executive Committee Members: Jeb Collins and Kevin Sinclair

No other reports, suggestions, etc., were put forward.

IX. Open Discussion

No topics were added to the discussion.

X. Adjournment

6:00pm

XI. Testing Zoom Links for the Virtual Section Meeting on November 7.

After the adjournment the officers tested out the Zoom links for Room 1, Room 2, Room 3, Room 4. This turned out to be instructive because some of the links needed a password and some didn't. This was changed for the actual meeting so that all the links worked the same way (I believe the all had the password embedded in the link).

Then the officers tried out Gathertown to see how that would work as well.

¹The winner was not announced at this executive officers session because one of the members present was a recipient of the award. The award was jointly won by Leigh Lunsford, Phillip Poplin, and David Shoenthal of Longwood University.